Tuesday, November 29, 2005

Goodbye Singapour

Well Hello Everyone,

I don't think you guys could understand... i know i told you about the joys of finding toilet paper in the toilets in Malaysia, and the excitement of being on escalators, but Singapour reserved me so much more surprises.... air con and tv in my room, wow... and the city is completely hi-tech... i went crazy... they had to tie me up so I wouldnt by a laptop, digital slr camera, mp3 (even if i already have one... thank god i havent activated my credit card yet!!!

oh and everything is so clean here... you could eat off the floor, and i swear if it was legal, i would do it... yes this is the place were everything is illegal smoking (even outside in some places), eating in the metro, bringing durian (fruit ) on the metro, spitting, littering, and not crossing at intersection... all this could bring you a fine up to a 1000$.... crazyness.... they have more and even crazy laws than the US.... imagine

Oh and this is my highlight of Singapour.... the zoo and night safari.... It is amazing, even better than St-Felicien for those who know it... its huge, so many animals and they have a lot of space.... But the night safari was even more amazing. The only one of its kind, you see all these animals that are usually sleeping if your lucky to see them, in a totally different environment.... the leopards and hyenas were about 5 cm from my face... well with about 2 cm of glass between us of course!

Also I finally met up with John and Mary, great friends that i had hicked in nepal with and now we are having fun being kids again... its great!

So now im headed up to Thailand, unfortunetly missing Indonesia.... My mom will be relieved to hear that I really really wanted to go, especially after rave reviews, but as there is no tourist on Sumatra right now especially after the bombings (on a other island)... it could have been a little weird... so it will be for next time...

Hopefully will be in Ko Lipe by tomorrow afternoon... will finally see an amazing beach and will stay for about a week, dont think there is internet, so nobody worry!

take care
caro

Thursday, November 24, 2005

View from the top!!!


















Nice one hey!!!!

Had the best night out yesterday.... very hard to top, so i decided you should all see for yourselves.....

Had been hanging out with these three awesome aussies and this french girl for a few days, and we heard of this place, so yesterday me and these two guys just decided to check it out and it has to be the nicest bar I have ever seen.... unbelievable, the view was absolutely stunning, it was very hard to put the smile off our faces.... Rob and paddy , if you ever read this, it will remain in my memory (well the parts i remember anyways...) for a very longtime.... thanks mates!

So with this amazing views came a beer that was pretty cheap considering the curcumstances... only 20 ringdins, not even 7 bucks... a bargain!!! so off course we took advantage of this and i still cant believe I didnt fall in the pool.... oh yes i forgot to mention that the Luna bar is on the top floor, the 35th to be exact, of central Kuala Lumpur.... very nice...

So after the most expensive night of the last 4 months, i have managed not only to make 2 good friends (at least!!!), met a sideshow bob double, get stuck in a toilet (!) but also started a new cult that we have decided to call... the Coloneltology... Our faith is very simple, our main guru, the KFC colonel sanders, our place of worship, our mecca, the luna bar of course and our main commandement... thou shall not conveit thou neighboors chicken.... so as a part of the main diciples we are looking for believers... are YOU a believer...

Anyways, just all this to tell all of you that im having a very amazing time, that their is life after everest (which i seriously doubted!!) and that am a seriously happy about it not being -20C!!!!

Love
caro
p.s. if you read this Rob and pat had a good time, should be repeated soon !!!! and greg and celine.... well you missed a nice one HHHHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

Sunday, November 20, 2005

MALAYSIA... very different...

Well hello there!

Ok so i know this would not happen if i took the time to actually read up on places before i went to them but this is TOTALLY unexpected.... Malaysia is not at all what i was expecting, its beautifull but also very rich, the roads are perfect, much better than our dear roads in quebec, car are very brand new, air conditionning normal not a luxury, and they have toilet paper in the bathrrom..... AMAING.... and if im not mistaken, i could actually flush the toilet paper.... this has not happened in four months..... its all very exciting....

To make matters even more dramatical, I went to see the new Harry Potter (amaing by the way!) in this cinema place that was exactly like the paramount at home... for 3 $.... i think I sheded a few tears....

So now in all this civilisation, I am a new person, clean (well in everest they said not to shower above 3500m ... too cold.....difference of tempeture too much... thats 2 weeks without a shower) and happy but.... i have to admit, that after spending so much time without all the sounds of cars and scooters, more than a month total ( a personnal best) I miss the mountains... but hey, the food here is great...... so there is compensations!!!

So, for now, im thinking a few weeks here and singapour and one week relaxing in thailand....
GREAT....

so bye for now
Caro
p.s.... mon cher hughes... merci de garder un oeil sur mon blog!!!! en passant jarrive pour le party de noel.... extra!

Thursday, November 17, 2005

Well... Hello Malaysia!

HELLO!!!

Ok, Ok, so i know i change my mind pretty often but what can i say, im only following orders.... Assumpta, dearest of friends, wrote to me: "so where to now? go somewhere sunny and safe with alot of spicy food".... so i got to Thailand and the easiest and fastest way to get out... well was to go to Malaysia, so thats that, Ill be in Penang in 5 hours (Im almost at the border now), in a beach hut an hour after that i hope!!! All this not even 2 days after Kathmandhu...all right...

So What I THINK ill do is to stay in Malyasia for 3 weeks, maybe a few days in Singapour, and finish with some diving in Thailand... for all who know me well this may change.... but hey, thats all cool

What else ... oh i confirm my flight back, itll be just before christmas!... I know i must be crazy to come back for the cold, but even i have a mom who wants me there for christmas, a best friend whos renting out a chalet AND i get to eat christmas dinner....hummmm, of course im coming back,

So thats that, my comments our out of order for a while, so those who want to send me a message and dont have my email : carolinecastro@hotmail.com ...

love ya
caro
p.s. Joe, thanks for the message, ill send you amy's, simons and robs email
pp.s. I just have to say i have the greatest mom.... yes i know you all probably do to but look at this, to understand what i went thought on the everest trekk, she went to a conference about students who did it and they ate some good nepali food... cool

Sunday, November 13, 2005

EVEREST,..... yes i mean EVEREST!!!




Unbelievable.... thats all i have to say..

it was amazing, cold (-20 at night) but beautifull.... really , while my first trekk was all about the circuit, the village, this one was about the mountains.... all 8848 meters of them.... it was perfect...!
so here are some [pictures.... incroyable...

The trekk in itself was pretty spectacular, you fly in at 2800m at the smallest airstrip i have ever seen,( alex cetait vraiment cool ), where i waited for michelle, a really cool australian girl who was going with me.... and we walked, after the second and third day, our first views of everest came... i really couldnt believe it, and the rest well, everest is only part of the beauty...
But it comes at a price...the altitude., i had been up to 5200m in peru, but itell you, sleeping and making strenuous exercise at 5100m to 5500m, well its pretty hard, people get helicoptered out very frequentlybecouse of altitude sickness, hape or hace.... it gets pretty severe...

But it is sooooo worth it, althought many people dont actually go to everest base camp ( no expedition at this time of the year), it really is impressive, to be right there where so many people try to hike her, the picture of the helicoptee is there, there is 2 crashed helicopters at ebc, been there for around 7 years, but it is too complecated to move them, them and the bodies of the mountaneers that are still onthe mountain, its easier just to leave them there..... thew kala parttar, (with amazing views of everest....) then decided to go to another valley with these two english guys, and this is where i had the most amazing sunset of my life, isint the picture amazing.....

and well thats that, hike for 15 days, ate like a queen, saw enough mountains to sustainme for at least one year!!!! i met so many great people, nepali and other, learned a bit of hindu, nepali, ate like a pig and still lost 8 kilos.... god i love trekking.... but dont worry, as i still have a monsters appetite and am not walking so much anywhere, your old caro will be back the same.... but it is fun weighing the same that i did in highschool even if it is ony for a moment!

So nepal was great fun.... but after, well i dont know... i will be in bangkok on the 16th... hopefully will leave veryvery fast for somewehere a bit exotic... maybe malaysia, maybe burma

take care all
miss you very much (well most of you!!!!... not not you of course) (THIS IS A JOKE ...for those paranoid people out there)
take care
caro